

Dedham Public Library 43 Church Street Dedham, MA 02026 781.751.9281 Margaret Connolly, Co-Chair Mary Ann Sliwa, Co-Chair Tracy Driscoll Sarah Santos Monika Wilkinson

DPL TRUSTEES LIBRARY DIRECTOR SCREENING COMMITTEE MEETING OPEN SESSION MINUTES JULY 16, 2019, ENDICOTT ESTATE, 8:30AM	
MEETING CALLED BY	Screening Committee, BLT Dedham
TYPE OF MEETING	Executive Session
CHAIRMAN	Tracy Driscoll
SECRETARY	Mary Ann Sliwa
ATTENDEES	Lauren Bailey, Tracy Driscoll, Chuck Flaherty,
	Matthew McGuire, Richard Pierce, Janet Reynolds,
	Rosemarie Shrewsbury, and Mary Ann Sliwa
PUBLIC ATTENDEES	none

The July 16, 2019 meeting of the Dedham Board of Library Trustees Director Screening Committee was called to order at 8:28am by Chair, Ms. Driscoll.

Public Input:

None.

Meeting Items:

Executive Session:

At 8:28am Ms. Driscoll asked for a motion to go into Executive Session as the Co-Chairs of the Board of Library Trustees, Ms. Connolly and Ms. Sliwa, have stated that an open meeting would be detrimental to obtaining qualified candidates. A motion to go into Executive Session under Exemption 8 of the Open Meeting

Law (G.L. c.30A, §21(a)(2)) to consider applicants for employment or appointment by a preliminary screening committee was made by Mr. Pierce and seconded by Ms. Reynolds.

A roll call vote was taken: Ms. Reynolds-yes; Ms. Shrewsbury-yes; Mr. Pierce-yes; Ms. Bailey-yes; Ms. Driscoll- yes; Ms. Sliwa- yes; Mr. McGuire-yes; Mr. Flaherty is a non-voting member of the Search Committee.

The Committee entered Executive Session at 8:28am.

Ms. Driscoll noted the Committee would reconvene in Open Session at the end of the meeting.

A motion to reconvene in Open Session was made by Mr. Pierce at 10:01m. Ms. Reynolds seconded.

A roll call vote was taken: Ms. Reynolds-yes; Ms. Shrewsbury-yes; Mr. Pierce-yes; Ms. Bailey-yes; Ms. Driscoll- yes; Ms. Sliwa- yes; Mr. McGuire-yes; Mr. Flaherty is a non-voting member of the Search Committee. Executive Session ended at 9:18pm.

The committee reconvened in open session at 10:01m. A motion to adjourn was made by Mr. Pierce and seconded by Mr. McGuire. The vote was unanimous.

The meeting adjourned at 10:02am.

Respectfully submitted,

Mary Ann Sliwa